Graffiti on the Playground…

August 23, 2008

♦♦♦

To my surprise I found some new graffiti near to my home on a playground for kids while we were cycling through the city. It came to my mind that this would be the perfect outlet for the kids:

being in fresh air, spending their energies on creative actions instead of loitering, smoking, drinking and taking drugs.

If the larger cities, where you have the problem with youngsters not knowing what to do, would offer more spaces for young “artists” to test their talents we would have much less vandalism. I am convinced.

Opportunities such as these – walls erected on playgrounds to give the kids some space for their inspirations truely does not cost a lot of money. Instead this would be the solution to a lot of problems of the suburbs… (please see post below City under attack)

4 Responses to “Graffiti on the Playground…”

  1. Kalilea Says:

    These are some fantastic captures. I completely agree that it would be fantastic if there were areas where young people (people of all ages, for that matter) could express themselves artistically in such a manner. I think that most of the negative activities you mentioned originate from boredom and the desire for experimentation. However, there are so many other ways to fulfill those urges that are far healthier for the body, spirit, and mind.

  2. vyala Says:

    Hi Kalilea – of course you are right in regards of less hazardess methods 😀 to spend on creative actions. Unfortunately there are not too many where you extend your activities outdoors into the public – and that’s the major cause of graffiti – i.e. to be seen by everybody. F.e. streetart – this is easily destroyed when it rains (and also not permitted everywhere by the officials). Graffiti spraying is much less hazardous if you do it in fresh air than other activities in a closed room as f.e. dealing with smelly paints, fusing plastic materials (as f.e. quilters do 😯 quite deliberately).
    Thanks for visiting 🙂

  3. Kalilea Says:

    Oh, I didn’t mean for it to sound like I was claiming the graffiti was hazardous. I think it is a great outlet as long as it is practiced in a place like in your pictures and not on nature’s lovely mountains. The unhealthy methods I was referring to was the use of drugs and such.

  4. vyala Says:

    LOL – Kalilea – sorry for the misunderstanding – again you are completely right. Graffiti on trees is disgusting – same applies for historical buildings. An absolute no-no! While I must admit that I cannot hide a certain feeling of gloat when I see it on advertising walls…


Leave a comment