New Work – another faux Marble piece

November 7, 2010

Finished another faux marble piece: this one is called Grey Marble.

These decorative pieces start to become real fun as I do never know how the result will be. And thus it happened that I could not do what I originally intented – similar to the Green Marble piece I wanted to do another faux marble painting with different colours, glazed the whole piece heavily and then realized to my horror that the block prints took the colours for the graphical design BUT the pattern would not “stick” to the glazed surface. Bummer!!! What now?

Although you can easily paint over heavy glazing with acrylics without any problems – block printing apparently is a whole different world. I decided to try it with stenciling. To be honest – since my childhood I have not done any stenciling at all so I had to find a way how I could apply filigree patterns (because this was the main requirement) to my marble painting?

So I started to work out a pattern which could be cut from a foil (I used simply overhead projector foils) with an exacto knife. Finally I had this finished – was a hell-uva-work – and I could apply the stencil pattern to the painting using acrylic paint very sparsely. This time it worked perfectly.

Tip

For lack of spray glue I used double-sided photo tape in order to attach the stencil to the painting.

And this is how the painting looks  now (framed in a virtual frame):

“Grey Marble”
20″ x 15″, acrylic on paper
©Petra Voegtle
.
.
.

~

 

2 Responses to “New Work – another faux Marble piece”

  1. Jana Bouc Says:

    Wow! You have got to be one of the most creative people. Your marble designs and silk paintings are exquisite. Forget that word “decorative” — these are art and they are beautiful!

  2. vyala Says:

    Jana, this is such a nice compliment from someone like you. I can give that compliment easily back to you – your diligence and creativity is incredible. I admire people being out for sketching all the time so very much because I haven’t found the guts yet to do so as well…I never seem to find the time for that.


Leave a Reply

