Painting again – Contemplation on a Feather (WIP)

September 24, 2009

Since a couple of days I am painting again. The new project is finally about a theme I was very busy with for the last few months: my balcony pigeons. Although the reasons for this (being busy) were quite different from being painting motifs but rather caring for young birds, injuries, sickness and recovery. You can read about all this on my blog diary Pigeon Tales

Now I have come back to my other passion again and started a completely new project about my beloved birds. I do not intend to paint merely pigeon portraits as one would assume but I want to concentrate on some unusual views, close-ups which normally escape the human eye if you don’t have the chance to watch pigeons for 24 hours a day and so close as I can do. I also want to paint in a manner that comes close to photographic realism but also want to keep the painted objects minimalistic i.e. the canvas will have large, seemingly empty areas, contemplative so to speak.

Therefore the first title is Contemplation on a Feather. The image below is a WIP – so no feather yet – 😳

contemp1

contemp2

Btw – these are the feet of Pete, the patriarch of our pigeon family. He is an impressive pigeon man with incredibly broad shoulders and beautiful feet with completely white nails.
Here are a few photos of him so that you can see what I am talking about:

0420pigeons0012

0930indpar0033pete

Leave a Reply

