New Silk Carving Project: Apsara #1

May 3, 2009

Here are finally the first photos of my new silk carving project: Apsara #1. Don’t know yet what the final title will be but that’s irrelevant at the moment.

As you can see this project is still in the drawing process and this will take quite a few hours still. The detailed drawing is necessary because I need to create a template after that in order to be able to transfer the image to the silk. The silk I am going to use is quite dark, so this will not be an easy task. Have to see whether my “light table” will be of any help for this. Drawing directly on the silk is not applicable because you hardly can correct anything even if it is only pencil.

The figure will be painted AFTER the stitching and sculpturing. So I definitely need the main lines to be able to do the sculpturing. I will see whether and how it works. It is the first time I am doing a silk carving project this size but I definitely look forward to seeing it completed.

.

drawing1

.

The work itself will be larger than life size. So you can imagine that this will take a couple of months to complete. But this is what I wanted to do: working on a slow project in order to have time enough to contemplate and think about the next work. I decided to fully concentrate on this theme for right now.

.

drawing2

.

I did a lot of research again on this project because I wanted it to be quite authentic but did not want to copy any exisiting apsara figure nor face. So the face of the apsara seems to be quite modern – not the ancient faces you’ll expect from the bas-reliefs of Angkor Wat.

Now I have to go back to work. Will keep you updated if you like…

.

.

Leave a Reply

