Started Sketching again…

June 21, 2008

Spend the last few days in my hometown. I needed a break from my work and what could be a better thing to do than leaving everything behind for a few days.

Well – did not really think I would be able to paint or draw while talking of old times with my Mom between cooking and shopping, sleeping and walking the dog – the weather was not quite nice either but then on the very last day the sun was shining, it was wonderfully warm and we could sit in the garden.

So I fetched my little sketchbook I had bought a long time ago, took a pen and some watercolours out of the box and tried to do something I had not done for a long long time.

It felt strange and clumsy but then I thought about  Jana Bouc’s sketches which are always a great inspiration for me – givin’ me more than once a heartily laugh – so I thought what the heck – it’s not important what the outcome is – it’s important to do it!

No – the results do not shine but it was great fun to do something so quickly and spontaneously. I swear I am going to do this more often again…

That’s in the backyard alongside the wintergarden

Same place – only looking a bit to the right where a lovely Wisteria is growing above a pergola…

and this is my Mom – checking out some old photographies in a book…

2 Responses to “Started Sketching again…”

  1. Jana Bouc Says:

    Oh my goodness! I was so enjoying these sketches and then spotted my name in your post! I’m so delighted that my goofy sketching helped to spark your sketching again. I adore all of these. The one of your mom is really nice–she looks so kind and patient. And the composition on the middle one is so interesting and almost abstract. At first glance I thought I was seeing a little fence where someone had left their pink pants.

  2. vyala Says:

    Jana – you are a little devil – goofy sketches – nothing is goofy with your sketches. And the middle one IS pink pants on the fence (my Mom’s) – I would never have tried to sketch these if I had not seen all those lovely, funny and wonderful sketches on your blog – and THIS IS A FACT – NOT ONLY A COMPLIMENT 😛
    😛 😛 😛

    That afternoon was really lovely in the garden with my Mom. She is 81 now and suffers from Parkinson which is really a shame as she cannot travel any more which she loved to do. But she tries to take it with humor and dignity.


Leave a Reply

