Art Myths 1 and 2

April 2, 2008

I thought I am going to add something funny to me blog here – me savvy too much beyond fish….

I have a favourite TV series and I’ll probably shock you (or rather not) when I admit I just love “Mythbusters”, the crew with Jamie, crazy Adam, Kari, Grant and Tori and all the others. This series just reminds me of things happening during my childhood and how investigative I was including playing some very dangerous games which could have ended easily at least in the hospital. One of the things was breaking my sister’s collarbone when I tried to twist her around as quickly as possible in the hammock and she fell out of course. She is still angry with me because of this…ohje

Well – I am not going to confess more about these foolish things – big brother could listen here – we were only kids.

I thought I am going to report all sorts of myths which I find reading other people’s blogs and stuff on the www. But all these myths will relate to art in one way or another. Maybe this will evolve into something to smile upon or to shake your head or even being a little food for thought. Maybe you could even add your own and give it to the public for digestion. It would be truely fun!

There is only one requirement: I am not going to name any person publically or reveal any identity of the originator of a myth. I am also not going to deliver any proof whether a myth is going to be busted or not. I am only questioning whether something could be plausible or not. That’s part of the game.

Now here is Art Myth #1:

Today I read on someone’s blog that painting standing upright is a must. The reason: otherwise you would become too lazy to stand up in order to look at your work from the distance from time to time. This has been taught by an art instructor at a college.
überascht

Comment: I wonder what else this guy told the students. What do you think about this?

Art myth #2:

In order to be able to “convey real meaning in their art” artists must be able to create self-portraits. All artists must be willing to do this in order “to explore their inner selfs”, to create a meaningful and soulful portrait. “An artist who can successfully create this type of honest portrait will have an easier time creating other honest types of art”
kaputtlachen

Comment: your take on this?

6 Responses to “Art Myths 1 and 2”


  1. Interesting take on art education myths. Myth might be a kind and politicaly correct way to describe the pontifications you noted.

  2. vyala Says:

    Hi Ronald, I am glad you like my take on these – I think it’s always the best thing to take the humorous path and not to give these people the opportunity to even feel more important than they already do…LOL


  3. I was also taught to paint standing up and I still do. I do think it encourages you to step back from your work- which is important- and it seems to also help you to paint from your shoulder rather than your wrist- but to say you can’t do it another way is silly. I mean, the Sistine Chapel wasn’t painted that way…:)

  4. vyala Says:

    Hi Deborah,
    thanks for stepping by. No doubt standing upright could be a recommendation only. I – for my part – hate standing upright painting, simply because it really tires me and gives me a lot of pain as I am suffering from rheumatism. So I built my own “easel” from a 3′ x 3′ birch panel with some boards mounted on the back so that it can be placed on a table in an angle of up to 70°. This angle can be changed whenever I need it.
    Of course I get up often to check my work from the distance. An instructor arguing that this is the reason for not getting too lazy is drop dead nonsense. I recommend not feverishly following everything that is “taught” – especially not such a nonsense but rather questioning your common sense whether something is reasonable or not. Anyone has to find out the best way for him/herself. And teachers are really not infallible and unquestionable – the contrary would be another myth – LOL.

  5. Casey Klahn Says:

    There certainly aren’t any absolutes when describing how to do art. I enjoy drawing while sitting down, but the work is small.

    I prefer to stand at the easel to gesture with the whole body. It makes a huge difference, and I am less tentative.

    I don’t know why one can’t stand back from a work from any position.

    BTW, I am enjoying the facade series.

  6. vyala Says:

    Hi Casey – thanks for visiting and your kind words. I noticed my spelling error when I saw your comment – how embarrassing – lol.

    And yes – I cannot understand that either why someone would not be ableto stand up. These kinds of “teachings” appear to be ridiculous…


Leave a Reply

