Basic Image for the next Painting: “Copper Wall”

February 11, 2008

During the last few days painting came a bit short. Had to do some paper stuff and also realized that it is time to apply for some competitions again – otherwise it would be late for this exhibition year. Have been quite oblivious of this fact during the past weeks because painting the new series became quite an obsession for me.

While I sped up my painting techniques with acrylics on cotton – the technical flow is in place now – I also realized that there are a couple of new ideas in the queue. I am not going to give more details because it is still too vague. Also I do not like to talk about my projects in that early stage – there are still too many variables – but I think I am going to a couple of more architectural pieces in quite a realistic style. Lately this has given me a lot more self-confidence for my work and I also want to explore this theme further.

The funny thing is since I started to look around in my own current environment the more I realize that there are motifs in abundance which are of new interest for me. Not specializing or restraining myself to a certain technique, material or subject leaves me the freedom to chose whatever might be convenient for a certain theme. This is simply a wonderful experience and gives me real satisfaction.

Painting with acrylics is a lot quicker than painting on silk. You don’t have those long waiting times where you cannot continue because colours and silk need to be completely dry. So acrylics on cotton are my preferred medium for the moment.

For the next project I used photoshop again to “sketch” a new pre-painting or at least what I am going to use as a basic image for the next painting. The working title is “Copper Wall”:

copperwall.jpg

Let’s see how this one is coming along…

2 Responses to “Basic Image for the next Painting: “Copper Wall””

  1. Natalya Says:

    looking forward to see how this looks in cloth…

  2. vyala Says:

    hmm – at the moment I have only prepared the canvas with its first 2 layers – a white primer and then a layer of cad red. I am still trying to figure out how I am going to create the texture. Have to try several possibilities because I do not simply want to paint this – this image screams for texture…


Leave a Reply

