Is there anyone asking the same Questions?

February 3, 2008

My question yesterday was “What makes Art really Big Art and Who decides this”? No-one has commented this yet and I don’t think that I am the only one who dares to ask these questions. Maybe this is just so boring and uninteresting that no-one cares about it or this is such a hot iron on the contrary that a comment would be highly dangerous??? I admit today you have to be careful about what you are saying otherwise you are easily imprinted with something that sticks forever on you…um Gottes willen - Neu!.

I am a very curious person and I ask many questions because I want to really know. I already bugged my parents at an early age with this and probably drove them into insanity.

I cannot imagine that there is no-one out there who does not ask these questions from time to time. I am here and blogging and putting all these inquiries into the air because there is simply no-one near me who could answer any of these questions. That’s the simple truth. I am working on my own, hardly have the time to go somewhere else at the moment and meet people on an occasional base. I have simply no time for socializing and my contacts are all far away. So even if you don’t believe this, the Internet is currently my only chance to get into contact with other people in order to discuss these kinds of things. So please – folks – creep out of your holes and tell me what you know or what you think so that I don’t die ignorant.

Maybe this question is irrelevant or has been answered multiple times by professional writers and critics. But instead of a long-winded discourse I would rather like to hear some answers which come from your gut-feeling and actual experience. Theory and practical life often diverge wildly and I am currently more interested in real life not theories.

Maybe I am touching a holy cow here but we live in a free place and we are allowed to ask questions – right? We may not get answers but we should try. How can we learn if we don’t ask questions? And why would we always have to wait for things to happen if we can do something to make them happen? So right away – let me hear what you have to say – I look forward to it! Even if I don’t like it…

What is it that gets gallery owners, curators and critics ecstatic about an artist’s work to be added to famous walls?

4 Responses to “Is there anyone asking the same Questions?”

  1. Marie Says:

    Vyala:
    Since you asked the question:
    In my mind really ‘big’ art is ,truly, in the eye of the beholder, buyer,purveyor,gallery or collector. I try to make things that please myself – and then, if someone else enjoys it too – it’s icing on the cake. I grew up in the “New York” art scene and watched many artists trying to “make it big”. I saw the people that they had to cater to, the depression they felt at being ignored or rejected, the struggles with galleries and collectors. I was fortunate to see inside the real world of some “big names”. I think I made a decision early on that my skin was not thick enough to play in that pond. What makes art ‘big’ is, I believe,ephemeral. It is based upon how hard an artist works to become known – or how hard their agent works. I think a lot of it is smoke and mirrors and mind numbing hard work and selling. I think that the number of artists – in any medium – that make it to ‘big art’ without much work (as in they are ‘discovered’) is a very small percentage. They are business is not for the faint of heart IMHO.

  2. vyala Says:

    Hi Marie,
    thank you very much for your comment. I think you hit the nail on the head with your answer. It confirms what I assumed and I wished people were more honest about this. But this would probably be quite naive to think from my side.
    If you exclude all the true talents, the true genius’ of this world (the discoveries) it probably takes a lot of effort, relentlessness to carry your skin to market without any ethical reluctance and even consciousness. That’s business!
    I am not prepared to do this either. I only wonder whether there is really no other way to achieve something in our world without trampling all of your principles, honesty and virtues which make a human humane? There must be a way but I am probably only a hopeless idealist…
    I also read from your answer, Marie, that I should continue with what my inner voice tells me all the time, that I just continue with my work that I love so very much no matter what someone else tries to push me to. What a relief…

  3. m6fan Says:

    The intangibility of what creates a “Big Artist” or their work could probably fill a book.
    I personally it’s as much a reflection of the artist as well as the actual work they create.

    You have to somehow become bigger then life, as a personality.
    Look at Picasso, who emerged as the most recognized artist of the 20th century.
    His “Cubism” style was certainly unique, but ultimately I feel it was his personality which made him become who he was as the “The Artist” of our times.
    Matisse, in my huble opinion, was the greater Artist, however distiny said otherwise.

  4. vyala Says:

    Alan, is it really that intangible? In retrospectives I think it is quite “easy” to decide who is or was a “big artist” because you normally have a whole body of work i.e. many many works on hand which can be analysed. After many years you would see whether an artist was able to set milestones or not.
    You can easily see whether someone was a master of light or form, colour, transparency etc. to become a role model for any other artists to follow.
    But I am talking of today’s artists, the ones of the last decade, the ones who are in the 20’s or 30’s max., who naturally cannot present a body of work created in half a human life. The ones who often turn out to be the one-hit wonders and disappear again after a very short period. What is it that gets gallery owners, curators and critics ecstatic about an artist’s work to be added to famous walls?


Leave a Reply

