New Painting from the Reminiscences Project: “Blue Door”

January 20, 2008

I did a painting marathon today – the whole day nothing but painting leaves and the final glazing, scanning and the third painting from the Reminiscences project is finished – I called it “Blue Door” – another of these wonderful colour combinations that really don’t seem to fit into a climate such as ours nor into the typical German mentality…but never mind. Things can be changed and who cares whether something fits or not?

I have my fun with painting these views on a piece of history that developed into something the architects of the Olympic Village probably have never anticipated: a little village filled with a very peculiar and vibrant atmosphere, comparable to those artist villages in the south of France or Spain. Vive la liberté, eviva la libertad!

And here it is in all glory:


Blue Door
Blue Door, acrylic on cotton, 18″ x 26″
©2008 Petra Voegtle

As usual – clicking on the image leads you to my website with a larger and better image and detail pics…and the original photo see below.

Btw – just in case you should be interested – I did no tracing of the photos I made for this painting series. So in fact it is a realistic but no photo realistic series. There is still the element of painting in an abstracting manner rather than copying each little detail. That was never my intent. As I have shown – there are the photos and I try to keep the paintings as close as possible to the documentation but if necessary or opportune (for design reasons) I change perspective, colours etc.

The intent is to create a vibrant memory of something that does not exist any more. So it happens that the memorized images will change over time just as they are changed in the paintings…

8 Responses to “New Painting from the Reminiscences Project: “Blue Door””

  1. m6fan Says:

    Superb!

    I really like these series of walls, doors, windows, and ivy!

  2. vyala Says:

    Thanks a lot Alan – it is funny how energizing it can be when you do something completely different than usual…

  3. Kim Says:

    Petra, this is really beautiful. Your subject matter is really wonderful, but the colors are incredible!

    I have just found your blog (via Tracy Helgeson’s) and it is delightful. I will be back often.

  4. vyala Says:

    Hi Kim,
    what a lovely compliment! Thank you very much.

  5. Natalya Says:

    this is a wonderful new series! I really like that you have included all those leaves, makes it look tropical too. will there be more in this series?

  6. vyala Says:

    Thank you Natalya – oh yes – I plan to do at least another 10 or so paintings for this project


  7. I want to be connected to the world people by the blog.
    Please link to the site of the dear friend side.

  8. proartist Says:

    Vyala,Blue Door is such a rich surprise! Very pleasing, and so beautiful to look at.
    Glenn


Leave a Reply

