New Silk Painting finished: “Rainbow over Wailua”

December 13, 2007

How do you like this template? I decided to change it because the other one was a bit too bitsy-titsy. Now I can use my own pics in the header.

The new silk painting “Rainbow over Wailua” is done and signed. Finished. Period. I think it is the most “realistic” painting I have ever done. Is this a typical consequence for paintings which are based on photos? I suppose so – you automatically add more detail than you normally would. Now I also understand why there is the danger of a painting becoming too cluttered. You have to differentiate between what’s necessary and what is redundant.

As I already said – the original image was an old travel photograph from back in the 90’s from a tour to the Haleakala in the early morning. It was on the first third of the way up to the crater – when I remember this correctly – and at a lookout towards northeast of the island of Maui with the rather plain lava fields beyond the tree line. But I am not quite sure any more. In the end it is not really important and I don’t want to nail it down that it was really the sight towards Wailua bay where the photo was made. I tried to figure out from a map where exactly that view was but that is not easy after such a long time. I hope the day is not far away when I can check this out personally again. Maybe someone else could help in the meanwhile and recognizes where exactly that is?

Never mind – I leave the title as it is even if it is not quite correct.

Btw – I am still not quite sure whether the rainbow wasn’t a tick too much and whether I should have left it out. I am crazy about NOT creating the standard kitsch stuff – I think photos are allowed to show the true beauties of nature which can never be trite but paintings? I have a deep antipathy against the saccharine stuff. Especially paintings with rainbows easily belong into that category. So this was the real challenge for me: painting a landscape scene with rainbow but NOT making it trite. I leave it to you to judge…

Here is the finished painting now:

Rainbow over Wailua
Rainbow over Wailua, silk, 21″ x 40″
©2007 Petra Voegtle
(Please click on the image for enlargement and detail photos)

 

6 Responses to “New Silk Painting finished: “Rainbow over Wailua””

  1. Natalya Says:

    the painting is lovely, is there any stitching? I can’t quite tell..
    nice layout too…

  2. vyala Says:

    thanks Natalya – no stitching – does not fit any more on these paintings

  3. BillyWarhol Says:

    I like the Ability to Zoom on the Larger Photo + it does look Beautiful*

    Nice Texture*

  4. vyala Says:

    Thanks BillyWarhol


  5. This is absolutely stunning, and the realistic quality has a “surreal” feel at the same time. I just happened upon your site quite by accident, but what a lovely surprise! I am a new fan of your work. By the way, do you belong to SPIN (Silk Painters International)? If not, pleae look at our site at http://www.silkpainters.org. We have a conference coming up in August 2008 in Santa Fe, NM, and I know we are still looking for instructors for the workshops.
    Vicky Luffman
    Lakeland,Florida

  6. vyala Says:

    Hi Vicky,
    thank you very much for your kind words and lovely compliment on my work. I have sent you a separate email to your yahoo account.


Leave a Reply

