New Silk Painting from the Magic Landscape Series: “Canyon” – a Triptych

October 5, 2007

I started this triptych in January this year and then somehow lost my interest finishing it and now I suddenly returned to it again. Funny – isn’t it? That’s why I am always working on different projects simultaneously – you cannot always keep focus just on one thing…


canyon1.jpg

This has turned out to be exactly what I wanted – a semi-surrealistic landscape with my favourite colours. It is painted on silk but this time I added 2 layers of acrylic transparent glossy lacquer in order to increase the saturation of the colours – I can assure you it is working wonderfully – and finally sprayed some mat film on top to reduce the glossy shine again a bit and to protect the silk from dust etc.


canyon2.jpg

The overall effect is quite interesting: the silk surface is very smooth but due to the silk being very thin (a pongé 05, backed with a polyester batting and a strong black cotton fabric – sounds complicated but isn’t) it contains little creases etc. and thus adds to a texture that looks like an old oil painting. I simply like this effect because it does not look so homogeneous as acrylic on canvas.

Please check out more detail images on my website by clicking on the photo above or to the right . Also you can see a much larger photo there than the one above.

~~~

4 Responses to “New Silk Painting from the Magic Landscape Series: “Canyon” – a Triptych”

  1. m6fan Says:

    I like the landscape very much.
    I don’t know why but when I view the work, it reminds me of the old testament in the bible.

  2. vyala Says:

    Thank you very much, Alan. It is funny but now that you say this I can see some parallels to the fantastic landscapes in Jordan, near the ancient town Petra (nomen est omen??) and that is definitely a biblical place – I have never been there but I have seen many many documentations.
    My inspiration for this landscape rather came from the landscapes and canyons you can find in the north American national parks.

    I think all the images you see in your life which have ever had a meaning for you, whether you have travelled there, or seen films or photos will leave some prints in your head. And from all these bits and pieces you create your own world, your own images and visions in your mind…

  3. Mark Says:

    Quite stunning Petra. It has a great sense of inviting depth to it. I also like the texture. The only disadvantage being that I can’t touch it!

  4. vyala Says:

    This is a very nice compliment – thank you Mark. Unfortunately the “photo” (scans) does not even come close to the real thing. Although I try everything to repeat the colours somehow it is not possible – the light of the lamps which make the paint pigments somehow glowing cannot be repeated on the computerscreen.
    Also words cannot describe that opulent feeling touching the surface of these panels – it is a bit similar to touching glass with a light texture…


Leave a Reply

