Define a plan

June 18, 2007

I know I probably should have been doing this before but it is not so easy to make up your mind what’s going to be in this blog and what it will be “used” for. So far I have only some sort of brainstorming list and would be glad for some inputs and suggestions, critiques…

1. inspiration – how and where to find?

2. evolvement of special works

3. general issues related to art making

4. experiments, intentions and results

5. interesting links

6. tips and techniques

7. project plans, new work

One Response to “Define a plan”

  1. anneappraiser Says:

    Hi Petra, I absolutely love your new work and this beautiful blog site. The site is a little difficult in terms of getting to the point where you can actually make a comment. However, that is not anything within your control, but for me, it was difficult to find where to do the comment. However, I have found it now, so I want to go forward.

    Your work is brilliant and you have a strong body of work that is as professional and sophisticated as any I have ever seen.

    I remember knowing you years ago when you were already producing great art, but then you took this wild and creative turn with what you are doing, and it has really paid off for you. Congratulations and it is very well deserved.

    I wanted to talk about inspiration, because I think in a way you exemplify what I am thinking of. I remember reading this book, Cross Creek, the autobiography of Marjorie Kenning Rawlings, a Newberry Award winner for children’s books. When she first started her writing, she was looking everywhere outside her own realm – trying to do what others of her day were doing in the way of writing. And she was having rejection after rejection. One publisher, however, recognized her innate ability, and he encouraged her to write what was closest to her mind, her spirit, and her environs. He told her to write about the everyday things she saw in the area where she lived – down in the swamps of Georgia near the ocean.

    She took it to heart, and every book she wrote thereafter was a huge success.

    I think this is something that we as fiberartists need to remember. We can go outside ourselves to find our creation, and there is nothing really wrong with that, but also, sometimes we push ourselves when the answers are right in our own backyards. I have read comments by some art quilters who believe that things such as landscapes, beautiful flowers, birds, etc. are passe’ and lack inspiration, but I disagree. I think if we look back in art history, some of the greatest paintings of all times have been of everyday subjects. Now in some cases they might seem exotic to us because we don’t live in areas where you see those things. For example, it would be ludicrous for someone living in the middle of the Arizona desert to think they would see a tall sailing ship, or the green trees of the Amazon forest. Some people could pull off that sort of painting or other art work when they don’t live in those areas where those things occur, but often to me, those paintings and other art works look forced and they seem to lack something of the spontaneity that comes from living in close contact with a thing. The reason, I think, is that a person painting out of context can only paint that which everyone sees – the big picture. But all the little details that a great artist can focus in on are lost to someone without the context, unless they happen to find a picture of the thing, and even then, there seems to be something missing much of the time. I love to read Arizona Highways and New Mexico Magazine for I love to look at the American Indian paintings, etc., but sometimes the work lacks substance.

    There are artists who do seem to be able to take a subject they might never have seen in person and intuit something about it that is just great, so I don’t want to conclude that it never happens.

    I think too that great inspiration comes from an exploratory mind. I saw one of the greatest art exhibits by an artist I believe is named Tim Matthieson, but I may have his last name wrong. I just remember how this man had the most exploratory mind I have ever encountered. His work was shown at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, and he had the major exhibit. Every single piece of his work in that exhibit was from a private collection, and some of the pieces ranged from room-sized installations to almost microscopic sized pieces. It was fascinating as I looked at the art to follow his thinking process.

    This is just a simple discussion on inspiration and where and how we find it and my thoughts about that. They are not necessarily true or the only way of thinking about the issue. They are just my own thoughts. Peace and many blessings, Annie


Leave a Reply

